Edith Anisfield Wolf

Birth Name:
Edith Karolyn Anisfield Wolf
Birth Date:
August 2, 1889
Birth Place:
Cleveland, Ohio
Death Date:
January 23, 1963
Place of Death:
Cleveland, Ohio
Cause of Death:
Cemetery Name:
Knollwood Cemetery
Claim to Fame:
Writers and Poets
Edith Anisfield Wolf was an American poet and philanthropist from Cleveland, Ohio who founded and endowed an award in 1935 for non-fiction books that advance racial understanding. In 1941 the foundation expanded the award, now called the Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards, to include fiction and poetry. Notable recipients during Wolf’s lifetime included Zora Neale Hurston, Langston Hughes, and Martin Luther King Jr. Notable recipients after her death have included Alex Haley, Gwendolyn Brooks, Toni Morrison, Derek Walcott, Wole Soyinka, Ralph Ellison, Quincy Jones and Oprah Winfrey. The awards, $1,000 per recipient in the 1930s, now amount to $10,000 each.

Cemetery Information:

Final Resting Place:

Knollwood Cemetery

1678 SOM Center Road

Mayfield Heights, Ohio, 44124


North America


Grave Location:

Mausoleum, North Wing, Chapel Floor, Crypt 321

Grave Location Description

As you enter walk towards the front and turn right and walk down the hallway ten or so crypts. Look to your right on the top row to find the final resting place of poet and philanthropist Edith Wolf.

Grave Location GPS

41.51379775, -81.44404546



Read More About Edith Anisfield Wolf:

Videos Featuring Edith Anisfield Wolf:

Back to Top